Trigger Training 101


"If you are going to carry,
carry all the time"

Instructor


John has been a Firearms Instructor since May 1997;
  •  NRA Law Enforcement Division (Handgun, Shotgun & Patrol Rifle (May 1997)).
  • Tactical Instructor (June 1999).
  • State of Illinois - Registered Firearm Instructor (IDFPR) Certified to perform 20 Hour firearms Qualification and Certification for private security companies (September 2009).   
  • NRA Basic Pistol Instructor. (June 2013).
  • Illinois State Police CCW Instructor (July 2013).
  • 6 years Law Enforcement.
  • 21 years Nuclear Security at the Braidwood Nuclear Plant.
  • 5 time TOP GUN Shooter with both Handgun & Patrol Rifle.
  • Armorer - Remington 870 & 1187.
  • Armorer - Bushmaster AR 15.
Instructor

Contact


  • 4501 Main Street, Streator, IL, United States

Classes


  • $30.00
  • 09/15/2019 08:00 AM - 09/15/2019 12:00 PM
  • 4501 Main Street, Streator, IL, USA
  • $35.00
  • 09/15/2019 08:00 AM - 09/15/2019 12:00 PM
  • 4501 Main Street, Streator, IL, USA
  • $20.00
  • 08/18/2019 05:00 PM
  • 4501 Main Street, Streator, IL, USA
  • $50.00
  • 08/18/2019 08:00 AM
  • 4501 Main Street, Streator, IL, USA

8 Hour Class

Read More
  • $100.00
  • 08/17/2019 08:18 PM
  • 4501 Main Street, Streator, IL, USA

16 Hour Class

Read More

FAQ's


3 Hour Requal Class
What to bring to a requal class
1. Current CCW License, FOID Card, Driver License.
2. Firearm, Holster, Cover garment
3. Minimum of 50 Rounds of Ammunition.
4. What will be covered during the requal class;
4a. With emphasis on 430 ILCS 66/10(h) which includes instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm.
4b. With emphasis on 430 ILCS 66/65 which includes instruction on prohibited areas and the parking lot exception.
4c. The FOID Act 430 ILCS 65/1 et. seq.;
4d. Relevant portions of the ILCS including but not limited to
720 ILCS 5/7-1. Use of force in defense of a person;
720 ILCS 5/7-2. Use of force in defense of dwelling;
720 ILCS 5/7-3. Use of force in defense of other property;
720 ILCS 24/1 et. seq. Unlawful Use of Weapons;

Q: What is the course of fire for qualification ???
A: 30 rounds to qualify
1) 10 rounds at 5 yards;
2) 10 rounds at 7 yards;
3) 10 rounds at 10 yards.

________________________________________


16/8 Hour Qualification Class
Q:  What are the qualifications to attend this class ???
A:  To attend this course, you must be:
1) At least 21 years of age;
2) Possess or be able to apply for a valid Firearms Owners Identification Card (FOID card can be apply for the same time you apply for your CCW License);
3) Possess a valid Illinois Drivers License or Illinois State I.D.;
4) Not be prohibited by State or Federal law from legally possessing a firearm;
5) Physically capable of safely and effectively operating a firearm;
ABSOLUTELY NO LIVE AMMO IN THE CLASSROOM !!!

Q: What should I bring with me for the first day “Day 1” of Class ???
A: On the first day of class, you should bring your;
1) Illinois Driver License, or Illinois State ID.;
2) Firearm Owners Identification Card (FOID) if you don't have a FOID, one can be applied for when applying for your CCW License;
3) Firearm;
4) Holster;
5) Cleaning Kit;
6) Pencil or pen and paper or notebook;
All firearms and magazines will be checked to ensure there is NO ammunition in either.
ABSOLUTELY NO LIVE AMMO IN THE CLASSROOM !!!

Q: What should I bring with me for the second day “Day 2" of Class ???
A: The second day of the class will include classroom instruction and range qualification.  
1) Illinois Driver License or Illinois State ID.;
2) Firearm Owners Identification Card (FOID);
3) Any approved training documents that allows you an 8 hours credit;
4) Firearm;
5) Holster;
6) At least 100 rounds of ammunition;
7) pencil or pen, paper or notebook.  
ABSOLUTELY NO LIVE AMMO IN THE CLASSROOM !!!

Q: What does the 16/8 Hours of class consist of ???
A:  16/8-HOUR CURRICULUM
Initial Firearms Curriculum must be at least 16 hours of in-person instruction and cover the minimum requirements listed below.
Firearm safety;
4 basic firearm handling safety rules;
Home storage;
Vehicle storage;
Public Storage;
Basic principles of marksmanship;
Stance;
Grip;
Sight Alignment;
Sight Picture;
Trigger Control;
Care;
Cleaning;
Loading & Unloading of a concealable firearm;
Gun identification: revolver, semi-automatic;
Ammunition identification and selection;
Safety and cleaning protocols;
All applicable State and Federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm;
The ACT in its entirety !!!
With emphasis on 430 ILCS 66/10(h) which includes instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm.
With emphasis on 430 ILCS 66/65 which includes instruction on prohibited areas and the parking lot exception.
The FOID Act 430 ILCS 65/1 et. seq.;
Relevant portions of the ILCS including but not limited to
720 ILCS 5/7-1. Use of force in defense of a person;
720 ILCS 5/7-2. Use of force in defense of dwelling;
720 ILCS 5/7-3. Use of force in defense of other property;
720 ILCS 24/1 et. seq. Unlawful Use of Weapons;

Q: What is the course of fire for qualification ???
A: 30 rounds to qualify
1) 10 rounds at 5 yards;
2) 10 rounds at 7 yards;
3) 10 rounds at 10 yards.

Q: What size of handgun do I need to qualify with ???
A: Your handgun has to be at least .18 or larger in caliber.

Q: How should I transport my firearm ???
A: When students bring their unloaded and secured firearms to class.  Ensure that you have your valid Firearm Owner Identification Card (FOID) in your possession. Double-check and ensure that your firearm is unloaded and secured in an approved case prior to transporting it.
ABSOLUTELY NO LIVE AMMO IN THE CLASSROOM !!!

Q: Do I need to have fingerprints completed for the Illinois Conceal Carry permit ???  (Fingerprints are optional for the Illinois CCW application).
A: The State of Illinois allows licensed fingerprint vendors to conduct fingerprinting services for the Illinois Concealed Carry Permits.  (I have a vendor that will do electronic fingerprints).

Q: How much do the electronic fingerprints cost.
A: The fingerprint vendor that I use, she charges $55 in cash or $60 by debit/credit card.

Q: How long after I take the Illinois Conceal Carry class will it take for me to get my license ???
A: Unfortunately, the State of Illinois currently does not have a projected time frame to issue permits. The State has a required time line in accordance with ILCS 430 66/30 (8) (90 days with fingerprints submission, 120 days without) to accept or deny an individual’s application.
(I have experienced that most individuals that have been fingerprinted have received their license in approximately 8-9 weeks).

Q: How do I upload my application to the Illinois State Police ???
A: If you are not computer savvy, I have some "techy's" that will upload all of your information on your applications to the Illinois State Police for a $20 fee.

Q: What previous  training does the State of Illinois recognize ???
A: 8 hour safety training exemptions are listed below:
Active, retired, or honorably discharged member of the US Armed Forces – DD214 military card;
NRA Basic Pistol  8 hours
NRA Personal Protection Inside The Home  8 hours
NRA Personal Protection Outside The Home  8 hours
Prior Law Enforcement/Officer Firearms Training   8hours
Any combined 4 hr approved courses-see list below.

Q: What are the approved 4 hour training that Illinois will accept ???
A: Illinois   Hunter Safety Course     4 hours
  Utah Conceal Carry License           4 hours
  Florida Conceal Carry License       4 hours
  Nevada Conceal Carry License      4 hours
  Missouri Conceal Carry License    4 hours
  Kentucky Conceal Carry License   4 hours
  Michigan Conceal Carry License    4 hours
  Chicago Firearms Safety Course   4 hours
 
The State of Illinois will only recognize up to 8 hours of approved training credits toward 16 hours class, everyone must take the last 8 hours of the class.

Q: Does my 16 hours of Illinois Conceal Carry Training good for any other State Conceal Carry Permits ???
A: Yes, Upon completion of our class you will qualify for a Florida Conceal Carry Permit should you wish to apply for one. Trigger Training 101 will provide you a Florida application and finger print card for FREE and further explain the process in class, should you want to pursue this option.

Q: What other States can I legally carry my concealed weapon in ???
A: States that will recognize Illinois CCW Permit – Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Montana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia. Wisconsin.  Illinois does not have reciprocity with any other states.
The above listed states recognize the Illinois CCW permit. It is YOUR responsibility to be familiar with each states CCW laws and regulations.  A very good website to keep yourself current on all other states and requirements is www.handgunlaw.us

Anyone attending one of our Trigger Training 101 classes should bring the following with them to class:
Any certificates or proof of your first 8 hours of training.
Handgun, unloaded and encased, it can be brought into the classroom. However, NO LIVE AMMUNITION will be brought into the classroom – it is to be left in your vehicle. The Instructor will conduct a safety check of your handgun.

On the second day bring at least 100 rounds of ammunition for your handgun for range qualification.
Eye protection & hearing protection. (if you do not have any - don't worry I have some)
Wear comfortable and casual clothes, appropriate for the shooting range.

Q: So how does one register and pay for a class.
A: Click on the class date and pay via Debit/Credit, PayPal.

Coffee, Pop & Water and Breakfast food (Donuts) will be provided.
Drinks & snacks are fine during class – our environment is very casual.
You can go out for lunch or bring a sack lunch – Whichever you prefer.

Handgun Law
FAQ's

Gift Certificate


Countdown Renewal Class


Class starts in.......

Aim Small - Miss Small

Countdown Inital 16 Hour Class


End!